PDA

View Full Version : Network Problems with Spin 2 on VirtualBox


oneanother
23rd October 2008, 06:38 AM
I just installed Spin 2 on VirtualBox 2.0.2 (Vista 64 host), and cannot get networking to function properly. I have an Ubuntu 8.10 virtual machine running correctly, so I don't think it's a host problem. I've tried changing the VirtualBox host network adapter from PCnet to Intel PRO, and still have the same problem. I only one run virtual machine at a time, so there should not be any conflict between Fedora and Ubuntu.

The strange thing, is that DNS lookup seems to be working correctly. I just can't get any packets out. For example:
=====
[root@localhost ~]#ping www.yahoo.com
PING www.yahoo-ht3.akadns.net (209.131.36.158) 56 (84) bytes of data.
^C
--- www.yahoo-ht3.akadns.net ping statistics ---
12 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet lass, time 11395ms

======

I've been browsing other threads, trying to find a solution, and came across one suggestion, which did not help:
# /sbin/chkconfig NetworkManager off
# /sbin/chkconfig network on
# /sbin/service NetworkManger stop
Stopping NetworkManager daemon: [ OK ]
# /sbin/service network restart
Shutting down loopback interface: [ OK ]
Bringing up loopback interface: [ OK ]
Brining up interface eth0:
Determining IP information for eth0...Nothing to flush.
done.
[ OK]

=======
This is the result of ifconfig:
# ifconfig
eth0 Link encap: Ethernet HWaddr 08:00:27:78:57:73
inet addr:10.0.2.15 Bcast:10.0.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
.... lots more that I don't want to type now, but all looks fine.

=======

any ideas?

Thanks.

oneanother
23rd October 2008, 06:43 AM
I just thought I should add that I've disabled the Firewall through System->Administration->Firewall so there should not be any packet filtering.
Running:
#iptables -L

shows no rules under INPUT, FORWARD nor OUTPUT.

sej7278
23rd October 2008, 08:40 AM
"12 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet lass, time 11395ms"

you'd better report that typo to the fedora devs - should be packet LOSS.

oneanother
23rd October 2008, 08:56 AM
heh. I was typing the error messages as I haven't yet installed Guest Additions on the Fedora install which allows easy text copying between the guest and host... I was bound to make a few typos.

stevea
23rd October 2008, 09:54 AM
The strange thing, is that DNS lookup seems to be working correctly. I just can't get any packets out. For example:
=====
[root@localhost ~]#ping www.yahoo.com
PING www.yahoo-ht3.akadns.net (209.131.36.158) 56 (84) bytes of data.
^C
--- www.yahoo-ht3.akadns.net ping statistics ---
12 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet lass, time 11395ms



Who is this Packet Lass you speak of ? I'd like to meet her and that infamous Rubber Maid some time.

I haven't looked a the VBox network config for months BUT please be aware that several of the configurations only support TCP/UDP. Some (tap is one IIRC) do not support ICMP and IGMP packets for ping.

Do use wireshark on the host and see exactly what is happening. It's entirely possible that the echo-response gets to your LAN but the host rejeccts it.

Wallasey Travel Photos on Instagram - Nazca Travel Photos - Rupnagar