PDA

View Full Version : Kernel 2.6.26.3 and GTK2 problem.


Willyham
18th September 2008, 03:20 PM
Hi,

Although I have worked with linux in the past, I'm completely new to it as a desktop environment, so please bear with me if this is a simple question. I've searched the forums, FAQs and other sites (including the changelogs for the kernel) to no avail.

This problem started a few days ago without me realising that anything had changed, so I assume there was a kernel update when I simply did a yum update and left the thing running.

Whenever I choose the 2.6.26.3 kernel in GRUB, fedora enters start up, but purely in 'text' mode, none of the fancy graphics appear. After all the daemons are loaded (with no error's I'll add) I get dropped to just a command prompt with the message:

Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display: at /usr/lib64/perl5/vendor_perl/5.10.0/x86_64-linux-thread-multi/Gtk2.pm line 63.

I can boot fine with the other kernel which is available:

Linux localhost.localdomain 2.6.25.14-108.fc9.x86_64 #1 SMP Mon Aug 4 13:46:35 EDT 2008 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

The reason that I'm bothered about this at all is that with the newer kernel I seem to be having at least some success with getting my sound to work correctly, whereas with this one I cannot get a single sound out of the computer (tried ALSA and OSS etc), but that's a problem for another day.

I'm not entirely sure what the 'cannot open display' is referring to, and weather this is a problem with the setup of my monitors currently. My xorg.conf file was automatically generated by the nvidia config program, and I've had no problems with it, so I assume this is referring to something else.

I've tried to take a look at the code where this error is arising, but unfortunately I would currently have more luck reading Befunge (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Befunge) than perl.

Just incase it may help, here's the ouput of lspci:


[root@localhost ~]# lspci
00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0754 (rev a2)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 075d (rev a2)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0752 (rev a1)
00:01.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0751 (rev a1)
00:01.3 Co-processor: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0753 (rev a2)
00:01.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0568 (rev a1)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 077b (rev a1)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 077c (rev a1)
00:04.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 077d (rev a1)
00:04.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 077e (rev a1)
00:06.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0759 (rev a1)
00:07.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0774 (rev a1)
00:08.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 075a (rev a1)
00:09.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0ad0 (rev a2)
00:0a.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0760 (rev a2)
00:10.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0778 (rev a1)
00:13.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 077a (rev a1)
00:14.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 077a (rev a1)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:0a.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Agere Systems FW323 (rev 70)
02:00.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 05b1 (rev a2)
03:00.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 05b1 (rev a2)
03:02.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 05b1 (rev a2)
04:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GeForce 8600 GT (rev a1)
07:00.0 IDE interface: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88SE6121 SATA II Controller (rev b2)


Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Edit: Additional

A strange new development here. I booted in the old kernel version to find that I was getting the same error (and no fancy start) but then X started anyway and went into the desktop as usual. As far as I'm aware, I've not tweaked or installed anything which could cause this to happen.

Hold the phone, just checked my yum log and saw these added yesterday:

Sep 18 11:25:05 Updated: xorg-x11-server-common-1.5.0-1.fc9.x86_64 Sep 18 11:25:05 Updated: sqlite-devel-3.5.9-1.fc9.x86_64 Sep 18 11:25:06 Updated: tomcat5-jasper-eclipse-5.5.27-0jpp.2.fc9.x86_64 Sep 18 11:25:07 Updated: sqlite-3.5.9-1.fc9.i386 Sep 18 11:25:08 Updated: xorg-x11-server-Xorg-1.5.0-1.fc9.x86_64 Sep 18 11:25:08 Updated: xorg-x11-drv-evdev-2.0.4-1.fc9.x86_64

So I assume it's something to do with these X updates. When I logged in with the new kernel, strangely I had no desktop effects, only 1 desktop, and no bars at the top of windows, so I assume no window managed loaded. I then reinstalled the latest NVIDIA drivers (just ran their script to overwrite the installation) and now when I boot up, I still get the original message and no fancy loading screen, but everything seems to be working again.

If I hit ctrl+alt+f1, I still see the warning message there, so the problem is not entirely fixed, though I guess it just isn't effecting me as much for now. If nobody can think of a solution, I'll just have to wait for updates to X / the kernel and see what happens.

Much love,

Willyham.

dhimes
19th September 2008, 01:07 PM
Hi Willyham,

I am also having screen issues with 2.6.26.3-29.fc9.x86_64

I've had them before, and it's been due to the nvidia drivers not being updated at the same time as the kernel. In my very limited experience, it takes a bit to get the nvidia drivers out for a new kernel.

I came online today to try to determine the status of the situation. I haven't found the discussion yet; found your thread first.

BTW, I usually have much better luck searching the forums with yahoo or google using the 'site' directive than the forums' built-in search
Search nvidia site:fedoraforum.org

dhimes
24th September 2008, 01:30 PM
I have found the akmod nvidia to be working; the akmod madwifi fails with my x86_64 in kernel 3.26

Tuxpan de Rodriguez Cano Travel Photos on Instagram - Bertoua Photos on Instagram - Louga Photos on Instagram