PDA

View Full Version : Fedora or Mandrake?

pamount
14th May 2004, 05:59 PM
Hi

I just picked up a copy of Fedora 1 (as well as Knoppix 3.4).

I might still see what Mandrake is like in the coming weeks. How would Fedora be better than Mandrake? I know my favorite computer store did recomend Red Hat to me last year as being the best Linux distro. Would this be because Red Hat is the market leader and it's good to be familiar with the market leader? I did read somewhere that Red Hat and Fedora would have the best compatiblilty with hardware or something like that.

As well one of my teachers uses Red Hat.

I'm currently studying part time (at night) to finish my Diploma in Information Technology and I'm currently doing a programming subject in "ANSI C". I'm using Cygwin in Windows 98SE, at home, but I don't like the way the window for the gcc compiler doesn't have scroll bars in Windows 98SE.

Thanks

pamount

Jman
14th May 2004, 11:53 PM
This is a matter of opinion. I haven't tried Mandrake, so I can't comment on that. The Red Hat kudzu hardware probing tool does a pretty good job at recgonizing hardware.

The only way to tell which one is for is to try both.

Thread renamed and moved to Fedora Focus. Please be as specific as possible when starting threads.

David
15th May 2004, 01:53 AM
Mandrake 9 installed really well and recognised everything except my pesky modem, which caused problems across the distros. When I came back to try linux again I literally went for the one that supported my modem :p