PDA

View Full Version : Setup a Mail Server?

pureFlamez
13th July 2004, 12:20 PM
I recently bought a domain from godaddy.com and I'm running FC2 on it. I only have email forwarding because I didn't add anything extra to my domain. I contacted godaddy.com and they said if I setup my own mail server, then I can actually receive my mail at pureFlamez@pureflamez.com instead of getting it forwarded to another account (pureflamez@gmail.com) .. If anyone can help me setup a mail server, I'd REALLY appreciate it..

ALSO -- I went to add/remove applications and tried to install software.. It asks for FC2 cd's? I installed FC2 via FTP, can I make it download software and install instead of asking for FC2 cd's?

pureFlamez
13th July 2004, 12:21 PM
This is my very first experience with linux and I'm a newbie, so if anyone replies then please add some details to what you're saying.. Thanks

Thoreau
14th July 2004, 03:42 AM
Try asking this in another part, this is not really for asking questions, so much as posting how-to's...eg how to steup a mail sever, not how do you set up a mail server

Not too jerky i hope

Jman
15th July 2004, 04:18 PM
Moved to Servers forum.

crackers
15th July 2004, 05:59 PM
Try eXtremail ('http://extremail.com/') - it's durn easy to set up and, by default, disallows relaying. The documentation is pretty durn clear and easy to read, as well. I had one up and running in less than 10 minutes - and it comes in RPM format, to boot...

bubazoo
15th October 2004, 08:22 AM
The only thing you have to keep in mind when installing a mail server,
make sure port 25 is not blocked, most ISP's block port 25.
without port 25 open, your server will not be able to send/recieve mail.

I found this out reciently myself when trying to install a mail server in Fedora.

you can find out if your ISP is blocking port 25, by telnetting or sshing into your server,
try to telnet into port 25, if you get a user prompt, your cool,
if you don't, then your ISP is blocking port 25.