PDA

View Full Version : Installation Help

dj33426
12th May 2008, 04:32 PM
I'm trying to install a software name Remote Control on to fedora 8 but it won't work. I'm new to linux and I got instruction on how to install, but it won't work. Now I downloaded it to /home/DJ/Download and the folder is crclinux.tar.gz and there is a install file there. When I tried to install it by double clicking on it nothing happens. I have the instruction please see the install instructions below:-

Open a terminal window.
Change the working directory to the one containing the downloaded installer archive, e.g.: cd Desktop
Expand the archive: tar zxvf nsmclient-installer.tar.gz
Change the working directory to the installer directory: cd nsm_install
Run the installer script: sudo ./install (do not click install this is not windows)

I'm lost trying to changing the directory part, I'm getting file or directory not found.

dj33426
12th May 2008, 04:43 PM
Here are some more instructions to the software I'm trying to install.

Installation
A CrossTec Client can be installed on Linux platforms, designed to run on a Windows manager,
enabling a Control to connect, view the screen of the remote user and perform a variety of remote
control tasks:
1. Download to a directory on the Linux machine.
2. Extract the TAR BALL. A sub-directory called Install will be created.
3. Point to the directory and run the installation. (As a Root User)
4. The CrossTec Client will install to /usr/ctc, providing a Linux daemon.
5. At the CrossTec Control connect to the Client in the usual manner.

ppesci
12th May 2008, 05:10 PM
When you ran :

tar zxvf nsmclient-installer.tar.gz

If you do not get an error, some directory has bee created. Use the command:

ls -la

To see if there are some directory with a realetd nsm_install name.

HTH

dj33426
12th May 2008, 05:50 PM