PDA

View Full Version : Newbie networking to XP

Angelfly
27th June 2004, 02:24 AM
I have some machines on my network, one of which is running fedora core 2 - the rest are on XP.

I am interested in being able to set up file sharing on the fedora machine so that my windows box can see and write to it. I have read posts around other forums and this one about how to do this, but I am completely stuck...

What I have done so far:

*Tried* to configure samba
Started the smb service
Set the domain to the same as my XP box
Set the hostname to 'andy' in network settings
*Tried* to create a share read/write

I have also tried typing in the IP of the fedora machine in IE, \\10.0.0.11\ but it asks for a password.

Can anyone help a COMPLETE newbie to this set up file sharing?

Thanks.

If you need any more info, just say.

[Edit] see updated info.

Angelfly
27th June 2004, 02:47 AM
More info:

I have tried booting another machine with Knoppix linux live. I go into konqueror and type lan://10.0.0.11 and it asks me fore a password. I enter the username and password for the main account on the fedora box and it shows me the name of the shared folder, "andy". When I click on the shared folder it asks me fore user and pass again, but this time using the ones I did before doesn't work.

Angelfly
27th June 2004, 04:45 AM
An update:

Some progress has been made. I did as suggested in yet another thread and set up samba to use encrypted passwords and created a user account with the same name and password as on my windows machine. Now, when I go in network places on windows, I can see the samba server. I go to it and see the folder I shared, but when I click on the folder I get this error:

\\10.0.0.11\andy is not accessible. You may not have permission to use this network rescource. Network access is denied.

Cr0n_J0b
27th June 2004, 06:20 AM