PDA

View Full Version : Intel wireless and bluetooth not workin on Lenovo laptop


lingghezhi
22nd February 2008, 05:23 PM
Well, i'm new here. Do pardon me if i dont have enough info yet, but i'll gladly run any commands you guys need to get enough info.

The laptop model is Lenovo g410 2049-33Q.
After buying it i immediately installed fedora 8, and havent had any problems so far in the past 10+ hours of usage. But I cant get the wireless and bluetooth to work.

I installed fedora 8, with KDE and mostly default installation options.
And i pulled the following off the lenovo site:

Wireless Networking Components 1
Wireless Speed Bluetooth: 1Mbps
Description Bluetooth Version 2.0 + EDR
Frequency Bluetooth:2.4GHz
Wireless Implementation (Form Factor) Integrated
Wireless Standard[10] Bluetooth Version 2.0 + EDR
Wireless Type PAN

Wireless Networking Components 2
Wireless Speed 11b:11Mbps, 11g:54Mbps
Description Lenovo-2 11b/g Wi-Fi wireless
Frequency 802.11b/g: 2.4GHz
Wireless Implementation (Form Factor) Mini-PCIe
Wireless Standard[10] Lenovo-2 11b/g Wi-Fi wireless
Wireless Type LAN


So far Ive tried enabling the NetworkManager and NetworkManagerDispatcher iin System>Services
I got a pretty button on the taskbar which doesnt do anything :(

Please help me ><
Its so sad to see it this way...

-lingghezhi
(email &MSN: lingghezhi@yahoo.co.uk)

scottro
22nd February 2008, 06:24 PM
If you still have Windows on it, go into Windows device manager and see what it says about the wireless card.

Also run /sbin/lspci in Linux and see what it says---probably towards the end of the output.

This way, we can have a better idea of the make of the card, and there's a good chance someone can help.

jtang613
22nd February 2008, 07:20 PM
Post the output of :

/sbin/lspci
/sbin/lsusb

lingghezhi
22nd February 2008, 07:57 PM
hi guys, thanks for the quick reply :)
Here's the output of

/sbin/lspci:


00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Contoller #4 (rev 03)
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 03)
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 03)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 03)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev f3)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801HEM (ICH8M) LPC Interface Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) SATA IDE Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
04:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM94311MCG wlan mini-PCI (rev 01)
06:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetLink BCM5906M Fast Ethernet PCI Express (rev 02)



/sbin/lsusb :


Bus 002 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
Bus 007 Device 002: ID 15ca:00c3
Bus 007 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0bda:0158 Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
Bus 003 Device 002: ID 0a5c:2101 Broadcom Corp.
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 0000:0000

jtang613
22nd February 2008, 08:12 PM
For the wireless:
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=174265&highlight=BCM94311

For bluetooth, post the output:
hcitool dev
If you see something like: "hci0 00:11:22:33:44:55" then your device is detected and working. If not, you probably need to install the bluez packages.

lingghezhi
22nd February 2008, 08:16 PM
Output of


hcitool dev;

Devices:
hci0 00:1D:D9:FB:29:D3

lingghezhi
22nd February 2008, 08:20 PM
that didnt quite look right..

The output of hcitool.dev:

Devices:
hci0 00:1D:D9:FB:29:D3

lingghezhi
22nd February 2008, 08:49 PM
Sweet. The bluez packages worked. I'm not sure exactly which package as i installed 'em all,but hey, it works!! :)
Thanks!

The link for the wireless:
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=174265&highlight=BCM94311
looks promising,

I'll report back here after i read and try the steps there.

lingghezhi
23rd February 2008, 06:12 AM
ok, i can now detect my wireless network.

It asks for the password, and then asks for something to with a keyring (don't really know what that is for).
And then it tries to connect. It doesn't connect, bt instead keeps asking for the network pasword.

Something I did wrong? =(

lingghezhi
23rd February 2008, 06:21 AM
Gonna dig thru the forum and see if i can find anything meanwhile. ><

scottro
23rd February 2008, 06:29 AM
Is your wireless using WPA? NetworkManager can sometimes be a funky with that.

However, if you're using WEP, and use a hex password (the one that doesn't look like a word) put 0x in front of it (that's the numeral zero, not a capital letter o).
What happens afterward, the keyring thingie, isn't asking for the wireless password. It's asking for your user password, to store the wireless password on what's called a keyring--Apple uses the same terminology.

lingghezhi
23rd February 2008, 06:50 AM
hmm..checked it out..no luck :(
Directly connecting via cable is sustaining my life...

The settings on the router is WPA Personal.
I changed it to WEP and tried again, but pretty much the same effect.
Still asks over and over for the wpa password,and refuses to connect.

lingghezhi
23rd February 2008, 06:58 AM
knetworkmanager doesnt work also.
I get the following in the konsole:

** (nm-applet:3552): WARNING **: <WARN> applet_dbus_manager_start_service(): Co uld not acquire the NetworkManagerUserSettings service as it is already taken. Return: 3


(nm-applet:3552): GLib-CRITICAL **: g_hash_table_destroy: assertion `hash_table != NULL' failed

(nm-applet:3552): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_object_unref: assertion `G_IS_OBJE CT (object)' failed

(nm-applet:3552): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_object_unref: assertion `G_IS_OBJE CT (object)' failed


No idea if its related though.

scottro
23rd February 2008, 12:01 PM
I don't trust the GUI tools and this is one reason. Often, they don't work, and their error messages are as, or more, cryptic than Windows error messages.
I have a page that talks about using wpa_supplicant rather than using NetworkManager.
http://home.nyc.rr.com/computertaijutsu/rhwireless.html

Additionally, if you used wpa_supplicant and boot in text mode, you'll often find more informative error messages that can help troubleshoot.

Sometimes, things work better if you use Gnome rather than KDE. It shouldn't be this way of course, but that's life. :) Sometimes (not always, cerrtainly) if things aren't working, and you switch to Gnome, they start working. It's useful for troubleshooting too, then you can focus on Gnome related programs which have become almost essential to Fedora in general, e.g., ConsoleKit and friends.

lingghezhi
24th February 2008, 06:20 AM
So, for now, I try out Gnome in Fedora?

Wondering, is it possible to run both KDE and Gnome on the same installation?

scottro
24th February 2008, 06:52 AM
Yes, but Gnome seems to like to take over--I think some of their folks worked at MS first. :)
For example, if I'm running fluxbox, and then type nautilus, as a command in an xterm, it changes my entire desktop background to a default gnome background.

However, you can certainly run them both, usually using KDE and only booting into Gnome when necessary. There's usually a thingie to choose a session at login.

Gold Coast Travel Photos on Instagram - Hegang Travel Photos on Instagram - Guilin Travel Photos on Instagram -