PDA

View Full Version : Old time Linux user - new to Fedora

rm2
15th November 2007, 05:49 PM
Hello,

I am rm2. I have been using Linux for about 10 years (I know, that is not that long, right?). Any way, I did use Red Hat as my desktop for a brief period until Mandrake drew me away with KDE. :D To make a long story short, I recently acquired a very nice ThinkPad T61with Intel's 965 GMA. Hey, I figured, lets reward them for making an open source driver.

I have been using PCLinuxOS for about the last year and a half and it has been great on my desktop. However, the distro is not quite ready to support my new laptop's hardware. So, that gave an opportunity to do some "distro hopping". I decided to try all the top distributions, and a few others, to see which one supports my hardware best. You'll be happy to know that Fedora did quite good on my test. While not the best showing, certainly towards the top. On the other hand, Fedora surprised me in many ways for the depth of care I could see in it in several areas. I found myself agreeing with its design decisions as I installed it and tested it.

I am doing a semi little writeup about my experiences with each distro. I don't own a blog, so I am hopping to eventually find someone that will post it online for the benefit of other distro hoppers. In the mean time, I thought you may be interested in the part that talks about Fedora. So, if it's OK, I am going to post it as a response to this thread. Please let me know what you think. ;)

rm2
15th November 2007, 05:51 PM
Installing Fedora 8: