PDA

View Full Version : ATI issues

raziel23x
25th October 2007, 02:44 AM
I Am using a old ATI graphics card the X1300 512 MB.

I Am having issues viewing screen such as QT3 and a few other graphic interfaces.

I can get blender to run fine but I just installed Maya 8.5 on the machine and all I get is a black screen with the graph in the center of it. I have used the install DVD and installed the Windows Version on my XP Partition and have no problems with the program running.

I have the latest ATI Catalyst Control Center and drivers installed from the ATI website for Fedora.

I have talked to a few other people who I work with on the NifTools project over on Sourceforge and they told me that Linux in general has issues with ATI Cards.

I Am new to the program so i am not sure what other information you will need to help me resolve the issue.

Seve
25th October 2007, 03:35 AM
Hello:
I don't have an ATI card, however, I understand that a new driver has been released. Which may or may not address your issue(s).
See : http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=169915

Seve

raziel23x
25th October 2007, 11:49 AM
thanks that did the job and fixed my issues with getting Maya Linux build as well as Qt to work like it should.

I don't understand the 5 billion steps to convert the ati-driver-installer-8.42.3-x86.x86_64.run into 5 rpm file when it is just easier to just open a terminal and go into the folder that you downloaded the run file and just for example type sh ati-driver-installer-8.42.3-x86.x86_64.run and it will run the ATI Self installer which will let you automatically install the parts you want.

leigh123linux
25th October 2007, 11:58 AM
thanks that did the job and fixed my issues with getting Maya Linux build as well as Qt to work like it should.