PDA

View Full Version : networking problems with RealTek RTL8139


mcastel
4th May 2004, 02:15 PM
Hello!

I'm experiencing problems in getting my ethernet connection to work properly.
I have a RealTek RTL8139, and I'm running Fedora Core 1.

Strangely enought, I * did manage to connect * with this card, until I fixed a problem with the drives of exactly this card
when running Win 98 SE. Starting from this point, I never was able to use this card when booting with linux.
I'm thinking that I've changed the firmware in a way
that linux doesn't like, but every attempt to "restore" the previous condition went wrong
(please note that the whole "card+ADSL router" environment it's now working correctly under win)


Here some info regarding the card:

# cat /proc/net/dev
Inter-| Receive | Transmit
face |bytes packets errs drop fifo frame compressed multicast|bytes packets errs drop fifo colls carrier compressed

lo: 12736 162 0 0 0 0 0 0 12736 162 0 0 0 0 0 0

eth0: 679 9 13 0 0 0 0 0 2155 25 0 0 0 0 0 0



....While this comes from "dmesg":

divert: allocating divert_blk for eth0
eth0: RealTek RTL8139 Fast Ethernet at 0xd491d000, 00:50:fc:a7:54:6d, IRQ 11
eth0: Identified 8139 chip type 'RTL-8100B/8139D'
divert: freeing divert_blk for eth0
divert: allocating divert_blk for eth0
eth0: RealTek RTL8139 Fast Ethernet at 0xd491d000, 00:50:fc:a7:54:6d, IRQ 11
eth0: Identified 8139 chip type 'RTL-8100B/8139D'
eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x41E1

Now what reported from "ifconfig":

# /sbin/ifconfig eth0
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:50:FC:A7:54:6D
inet addr:10.0.0.1 Bcast:10.255.255.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:1 errors:3 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:9 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:60 (60.0 b) TX bytes:692 (692.0 b)
Interrupt:11 Base address:0xd000

I'm not really expert in configuring ethernet cards, so maybe that's some simple setup to do that I did not recognize...
Thank in advance for any help :)

Marco C.

Jman
5th May 2004, 01:00 AM
It appears that it's up. What kind of problems are you having? Can you ping anything or have any kind of net traffic?

The graphical network tool is at Main Menu > System Settings > Network. Look at the settings. Maybe you want to remove it and add it again.

mcastel
5th May 2004, 11:20 AM
...Now it's working! I found that I simply had to set the card to "10 half mode", so I used this commands (found this info in the Realtek website):

#ifconfig eth0 down
#rmmod 8139too
#insmod 8139too media=0x01


Greetings,

Marco

gdemarco
10th July 2007, 03:27 PM
I have the same problem in FC7
Giusepe

destroyallgood
20th August 2007, 08:32 PM
even ia have the same trouble.....and even worse....i installed it as a second NIC ....my fedora7 setup doesnt event list it as eth1 ....or anything while i get it for my onboard VIA NIC(eth0) :(

0throot
13th March 2011, 10:21 AM
RTL8139 on Fedora Core 14, mcastel's suggestion to set to 10 and half worked for me as well.. awesome!

0/

Creek Side - Stockholm-Arlanda Airport (ARN) Travel Photos on Instagram - Marina of Koper Travel Photos - Te Whiti Park Instagram Photos - Texas State Fair Photos on Instagram