PDA

View Full Version : Updating Fedora 6 Remotely

open4biz
22nd September 2007, 07:26 PM
Hi All,

I'm pretty new to the world of Linux/Fedora. I have a dedicated web server running Fedora Core 6 and Plesk 8.1.1. I have root access.

Because it's dedicated, I'm responsible for the care and maintenance of it. Recently, I received the following email from my hosting company:

We're writing to inform you that we've recently experienced an unexpected increase in viral infections and other security compromises on servers running certain outdated software.

Therefore, servers that currently run older versions of operating systems, and those that run third-party software originally installed at the time of provisioning (such as PHP, Apache, etc.) are at serious risk for compromises and viral infections.

In most cases, such servers have not been updated in several years, leaving them without the latest security updates that prevent hackers from easily exploiting the servers.

In an effort to prevent as many of these security breaches as possible, Aplus.Net is reminding all our dedicated server customers to update your operating system and third-party software on a regular basis, at least once a month.

Remember, once the servers are provisioned and turned over to you for your use, it is your responsibility to update the servers to the latest release and fix levels.
Doing so will help ensure that your server has the latest security features and fixes that are available, and thus significantly reduce the vulnerability of the server.

While the current increase in compromised servers is related to older Fedora operating systems, it is wise to install the latest updates on your server regardless of whatever operating system you may use (Windows, Fedora, etc.).

My question is: what's the best way to remotely update the OS and other components (MySQL, PHP, etc)? I've updated Plesk and it's all up to date.

Any help would be appreciated! :D

-A.

tho.mei