PDA

View Full Version : I'm sorry Fedora I have to leave you

KRAZYBASTID
24th March 2007, 06:46 AM
Well I'm not a noob anymore. I realize now that I want i686 not x64 well I just wasted all day downloading x64 Fedora Core 6 6 damn CDs WTF!? How much crap can they shove into a Kernel. When I was a noob I thought Fedora was the World but please just do one CD like everybody else I can't take it anymore.

Wayne
24th March 2007, 06:50 AM
You only need the first two CDs to do a basic install then get everything else you need online.

Wayne

b_martinez
24th March 2007, 07:06 AM
Well I'm not a noob anymore. I realize now that I want i686 not x64 well I just wasted all day downloading x64 Fedora Core 6 6 damn CDs WTF!? How much crap can they shove into a Kernel. When I was a noob I thought Fedora was the World but please just do one CD like everybody else I can't take it anymore.
Hiya Krazy,
Glad to read that you're learning.
Still.............
Your post makes me wonder why you didn't read the documentation ...........
A few minutes of reading would have helped you to learn that the x64 is for the 64 bit processor architecture. (And saved you a lot of time and bandwidth.)
Do you 'really' want to use a primary distro?
Try downloading the FC distro again. We are not distro centric here. (Not TOO much enny waze) but we are here because we all prefer this distro. We'll help you out. .....
It's why we're here. [We could be out fishing instead.]
Remember the old saying "Nothing ventured , nothing gained" ? It applies to time spent learning, also.
Bill

ihavenoname
24th March 2007, 07:07 AM
Fedora 7 is going to be releasing an installable live-cd. Read:only one cd.
In fact there is one out for Fedora Core 6. I have it, but it was an alpha release, sort of a proof of concept.