PDA

View Full Version : Beginner stupidity - problem with python


Francois
17th November 2006, 10:29 AM
Hello,

For a stupid reason, I un-installed python.

I understood quickly that I did something very bad.

My gnome menu disappeared, almost all softwars that used a graphics interface made problems, even the shell was not working correctly.

I had the windows-fedora core 5 double boot.

Now when I start I don't see in the grub interface the linux boot option.

Is it possible to fix this problem?
Can I re-install python using the rescue mode and if yes, how ?

Help please ! Thanks

baschti
17th November 2006, 10:54 AM
hi,
how did you uninstall python? did you use yum?
-if so, whatch the yum log (/var/log/yum.log) to see which programms where removed as dependencies

baschti
17th November 2006, 11:00 AM
..ooops - you can't boot
yes boot in rescue mode (i think its cd1)
chroot the filesystem and take a look at the logs - to see what you exactly did

Francois
17th November 2006, 11:22 AM
Oh my god !!

I did what you said.

I used the rescue disk to boot in rescue mode.

After I got the shell prompt I went to the /mnt/sysimage/var/log/
and openned the yum.log file with vi.

From line 144 up to 656, i see things like the one that follows with same day and almsot same time:

> Nov 16 22:57:13 Supprimé (french world for removed) : gcc-gfortran

Does it mean that I deleted 656-144=512 programms ??!!!!

I guess I have to re-install Fedora Core 5 ?!

If yes before doing that I would like to save few files. How can I mount a disk or a external hard disk to make copies ?

Francois
17th November 2006, 11:24 AM
yes I uninstall python using the graphic interface for yum (that disapeared after !)

baschti
17th November 2006, 01:06 PM
.. i've never tried this, but you could reinstall all this programms with "yum --installroot=/path"
so it should look like "yum --installroot=/mnt/sysimage/ install foo"

Francois
17th November 2006, 01:58 PM
I reinstalled Fedora Core 5.

I did that before you send the last post.

It is not that bad ! I have most of my files saved on an external HD.

But I will have to reinstall few programms.

Thanks a lot for the time you spent helping me !!

icy-flame
17th November 2006, 06:55 PM
.. i've never tried this, but you could reinstall all this programms with "yum --installroot=/path"
so it should look like "yum --installroot=/mnt/sysimage/ install foo"

I believe yum needs python to function.

Reinstall is probably a faster and more reliable method.

Berlin Photos - Shiraz Travel Photos - Amravati Photos -