PDA

View Full Version : FC5 x86_64 on Compaq V6002

sinkhole777
13th September 2006, 07:45 AM
Hello all,

I am a newbie. Just installed FC5 64bit on my compaq. (Turion 64 dual core) The instal proceeds fine, identifies the Display adaptor correctly, etc. It proceeds thru first boot, user setup etc, then goes blank screen on me. I have installed four times now, selecting several monitor settings, and then accepting the default "unknown monitor" at 800 x 600.

I assume that I have set up the display incorrectly, but do not know how to address this with a blank screen.

Is there an equivalent to MS Safe mode?

Thanks in advance for help

glennzo
13th September 2006, 10:36 AM
Are you using grub as a boot loader? If so, choose the Fedora entry on boot up and press 'e'. Then select the 'kernel /boot/vmlinuz' line and press 'e'. At the end of the line add a space and the number 3, press enter and press 'b'. This will boot Fedora in level 3 which will present you with a command prompt and will not go to graphical mode.

sinkhole777
13th September 2006, 01:14 PM
Thanks Glennzo, I will try that pronto!

Is there a simple way to make my installation use the same display config that is used during the install process? During the instal there was no probs with the display....full screen, clean as a whistle.

I just want it to work so I can play with it :-)

sinkhole777
13th September 2006, 02:05 PM
I'm currently in windows looking for info. I've found this info :
http://www.mjmwired.net/resources/mjm-fedora-fc5.html#install which relates the problems with FC5 distros and Nvidia drivers, and the fixes....

Great...before I can even have a decent look at this OS, I have to learn command line functions!

Not a good start for Linux I'm afraid. Of course If i spend as much money on books as It costs to buy OEM Windows I could spend hours and hours learning to use Linux at the command line.

Shame really... the Knoppix live CD runs fine, and it looks very pretty