PDA

View Full Version : problems installing firefox 1.5

thenewjdevil
3rd July 2006, 08:04 PM
I am totally new to Linux and still learning :confused: . I am using FC4 and I have tried to install Firefox 1.5. I have downloaded the tar to my home directory, extracted it to the same location, and ran yum install firefox. When I open fireox, it still opens to 1.0.7. I have tried two different rpm's and both state that a newer version is currently installed, so they don't do anything. Can anyone help with what I am doing wrong?

Thanks in advance :D

Craig Pemberton
3rd July 2006, 08:11 PM
Generally what is in the offical yum repositories is the best compromise between stability and being up to date. Simply

yum install firefox
yum update

This will not install the rpm you downloaded, but should get you 1.5. . .

yum localinstall <filename.rpm> will install that rpm you downloaded.

If you used rpm -i instead of rpm -U you may have two versions of firefox installed on your system.

Try this to check

rpm -qa | grep firefox

thenewjdevil
4th July 2006, 05:00 AM
yum update did nothing more waste an hour and half. any other ideas?

schwim
4th July 2006, 05:19 AM
yum update did nothing more waste an hour and half. any other ideas?

Sir, I imagine with that appreciative attitude towards those that are trying to help you, no, I don't think the ideas are going to flow forth for your benefit.

Yum doesn't waste time. People screwing up their installs by installing multiple instances of an application wastes time. What I think you need to do is find those instances of FireFox, removing them and then installing whichever flavor of FF you want to run, whether it's Fedora's version or Mozilla's.