PDA

View Full Version : Installing Matlab R14 SP3 on X86_64 FC5

Det0r
24th April 2006, 03:27 AM
Hey guys, I'm still kinda new to linux, so I'm probably doing this completely wrong, but I've been having a few problems with installation of Matlab.

When I follow the instructions from the matlab website (http://www.mathworks.com/access/helpdesk/help/base/install/unix/) :

If you are installing from a CD, execute the following command to run the MathWorks Installer.

/cdrom/install &
In my case /cdrom is /media/MathWorks_R14sp3/ thus I do:
[root@det-lappy matlab]# /media/MathWorks_R14sp3/install &
[1] 3132
bash: /media/MathWorks_R14sp3/install: No such file or directory

Reading around a few sites from a google search I saw that a lot of people put a * at the end of install (what does this do btw?)

[root@det-lappy matlab]# /media/MathWorks_R14sp3/install* &
[2] 3140
[1] Exit 127 /media/MathWorks_R14sp3/install
bash: /media/MathWorks_R14sp3/install_unix.sh: /bin/sh: bad interpreter: Permission denied
I figure this is closer, because now it's trying to run the install_unix.sh, but yeh, now I'm getting a bad interpreter problem :/

Any help is most appreciated thanks.

Det0r
26th April 2006, 12:08 AM
Can anyone help?

dubrict
29th April 2006, 11:00 AM
I have the exact same problem... I've been looking for a solution, but there doesn't seem to be any help out there yet.. :(

Det0r
29th April 2006, 11:27 AM
I'm going in to see my uni departments head IT admin tomorrow; he's a gawd with Linux and he has Matlab setup on all my departments comps, so hopefully he can help. I'll post what he did once it's done.

dubrict
29th April 2006, 11:30 AM
actually I just found something, go to:
http://www.mathworks.com/support/solutions/data/1-O7POO.html?1-O7POO

it shows how to install the 32-bit version... but first you need to copy the files to your hard drive

dubrict
29th April 2006, 12:19 PM